Saturday, January 24, 2015

Mini-Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright PlacesAll the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
384 Pages
Release Date: January
Publisher: Knopf
Genre: Contemporary
Rating: 3.5-4 STARS

Goodreads Summary:
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

All the Bright Places is a beautifully written novel that perfectly portrayed mental illnesses. There was no sugar coating it and it drove home with two great characters. There was never a doubt that it wouldn't be heart wrenching. I've honestly never had great experiences with books like these because they just don't seem to resonate with me despite how well written it could possibly be. 

But what made me love this book was Theodore Finch. I loved reading about his thoughts, seeing his love for Violent, his enthusiastic talks about the different places. He was an easy character to love. I don't know why or if it's just me but I never got the impression that he truly wanted to die. He may pondered and thought hard about it but it never seemed like it he would ever take it that far. He stole the spotlight and definitely would have gotten a standing ovation. 

While Violet may have not been as powerful as a character like Finch. She was a fantastic character that gave Finch hope while Finch let her blossom. He helped deal with her sister's death through his caring and determined personality. She never judged him for who he was and anything he did. They loved each other fiercely and clung to the hope they gave each other. 

Knowing that the author was personally affected by mental illnesses in her life definitely helped me feel more attached to the story. An emotional and creatively woven story that intertwines two different people who never would have been expected to meet, All the Bright Places is for all contemporary readers and/or those who are in need of a poignant story. Happy Readings! 

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love to read your comments! Please note that Books As You Know It is an award free blog. While we appreciate the honor and support, we don't have any time to make a post for it. Thank you though!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...